A Quiet Return

I feel like I do this a lot.  I get going with the blog, posts seem to flow pretty freely, and then BAM, something happens to slow me down, or stop me in my tracks.  I’m learning that this is the nature of life, but that doesn’t make it any less frustrating.

My struggles remain the same…I’m working to balance home, career, health & fitness, and fun, all the while making sure I get “me” time so that I am able to recharge when I need to.  I am starting to see that when I don’t take enough of that precious “me” time, the roadblocks and/or shutdowns, and sometimes even meltdowns, occur.

I’m getting a little better, day by day, of managing my reactions to the external craziness over which I have absolutely no control.  It’s a process, and sometimes, an unpleasant one.  I’ve been spending time confronting my own demons, and trying to focus most of my attention and energy on what makes me feel good, solid, and grounded, rather than what makes me stumble or shakes my confidence.

I have changed a few things since my last post:

1. We moved…into a tiny, heavenly apartment close to where I work.  It almost feels like a little cabin in the woods, and that suits us just fine.

2. I took a new position in my “real” job…some might call it a promotion, others call it torture…I’m calling it an experiment, and so far it is going well – a few of those bumps I mentioned earlier, but all manageable.

3. I’m slowly but surely moving myself toward a daily yoga practice, even if my sessions are short.  I have not met an exercise that truly feeds me,  mind, body, and spirit, like yoga does.  It is, in the words of my yoga teacher, my “soul mate” exercise.  I’ve dabbled in yoga here and there over the years, but never really took to it like I have this year.  Knee and foot injuries make Zumba something I can do once a week or so, but yoga…I can jump on the mat every darn day, and some days it might leave me sore, but it wakes me up in every possible way.  For this, I am grateful.

4. I have TIME to do the things I love most…cook, bake, spend time outdoors with friends and family.  I’m not on the road for 2 1/2 or more hours each day, so now I can take the time to write posts, have hobbies (creating a Project Life scrapbook), and gosh…BREATHE without feeling like I’m ignoring someone or something important.

My plan, for now, is to set a goal for each week that is focused on something important in my world.  For this week, my goal is to create, find, and eat healthy meals (especially veggie sides) that nourish my body and feed my need for delicious and satisfying food.

Tonight’s tasty side will be a romaine salad with sliced apples, dried cranberries, brie cheese, and a raspberry pecan dressing….I’m hoping it tastes as delicious as it sounds!

UPDATE….the salad was AMAZING!

Photographic evidence…

IMG_2756 IMG_2758

 

The top photo contains the keys to the perfection of this salad…a tiny wheel of brie purchased at Trader Joe’s…perfection.  The co-star in this salad are the pecans…candied pecans.  I cannot wait to make and devour this salad again tomorrow night!  We had this with oven roasted split bone-in chicken breasts and my husband’s out of this world mashed potatoes.  A simple, yet extraordinary meal!

Leave a Reply

