Day 6

I am almost through my first week of the Mandy Ingber Yogalosophy 28 day program. Amping myself up for the Day 5 workout was something of a miracle, but I did it. With some positive self talk, and a desire not to let myself fail, I peeled myself out of the chair (it was so cozy), and got myself on the mat.

I am so happy I did, and I am proud of myself for not giving in to the “I’m tired” voice that was trying to talk me out of tonight’s very short workout.

Tonight was all about the poses in her sequence and focusing on breathing. We forget how important and helpful deep and mindful breathing can be. It gets me though tough yoga classes, calms me in times of stress, helps me stop and think before I say something mean or hurtful, and helps me to really pause and take in beautiful surroundings when I’m spending time outside.

Seriously…you should try it. Just breathe.

If you make a habit of it – of real, deep breathing, you’ll feel yourself slow down, calm down, and you’ll notice some truly beautiful things in this world if you would just allow yourself this one indulgence. I mean it…s l o w d o w n and take it in. This world is absolutely gorgeous.

Mandy (my BFF for the next 28 days) says, “Breathing with intention calms you, giving you more presence as well as far more personal power. Even simple awareness of your breath, particularly the space between the inhale and the exhale (and vice-versa), reconnects you with your center.”

So, with that in mind…I’m off to journal and finish my work for tonight…but not before my gratitude list…

1. cool weather in June…makes the classroom temperature more tolerable and the students more productive

2. my nightly routine of exercise, blogging, and journaling…me time!

3. my egg white and turkey sausage breakfast sandwich…it’s delicious and I love it so much I eat it every single morning…YUMMY!

4. my bed – it’s like sleeping on a cloud

5. both positive and challenging interactions with students – I learn so much from both. I learn about myself and I learn so much about teaching and getting “dialed in” to what my students need from me

That does it for today. I hope you are enjoying my journey and maybe even inspired to begin a journey of your own.

Breathe…believe…receive…

Day 6 will be upon us before we know it!

Leave a Reply

