New Beginnings and Finding MY Way

I have been absent from the world of blogging for quite a while.  I have been busy and, admittedly, unfocused on writing blog posts.  Some of that lack of focus, however, came from having lost my way as a blogger.  I really feel like I was trying to pattern my blog posts, photography, and experiments in the kitchen after the blogs of others.  I got lost in the process and preparation, and my creative voice just kind of…vanished.

My most recent posts are those from my 30 days of gratitude.  I loved those 30 days because I was focused on what was positive in my life.  I also loved those posts because I could do them quickly and they were about what was important to me.  I wasn’t trying to take a million photos.  I wasn’t forced to be precise so that the cooking of experiments of others went well.  I was just me, and that felt great.

I turned 35 at the end of January.  I’m still trying to figure out what 35 is supposed to feel like or mean.  When I was younger, 35 seemed to be so far off and so…old.  Now that I’ve arrived at this number, it is not remotely close to old.  In fact, I feel better now, in this moment, than I’ve felt in a very long time.

One of the reasons I feel so good is because I’ve gotten back to treating myself well.  Two years ago at this time, I had lost between 20-30 pounds.  I had been attending two Zumba classes per week, and then filling in the other days with running, walking, or time on my elliptical. Then…life happened.  For quite some time it felt like I was limping through a mine field.  At nearly every step and turn, a new obstacle showed its face, and every time, knocked me for a loop.  I lost sight of the importance of taking care of me.  I tried to control people and events that were beyond my control.  I gained the weight back, allowed myself to be stressed about things that were FAR beyond my control, and lost sight of what is truly important.  I got caught up in life’s “stuff”.

Right around my birthday, I took control.  I stopped seeing myself as a victim of circumstance.  I refocused my attention on what I can control.  It took a long time to figure it out, but I really only can focus on what I can control…me, my actions, my thoughts, my intentions, and my reactions to the world and people around me.  That’s it.  I can’t control other people.  I can’t control the situations that present themselves.  I can’t control what happens in the world around me and beyond me.  I can only control me.  That realization has been a powerful one.

So, I’ve gotten back to a regular fitness regimen that, right now, includes Zumba, yoga, and time on my recumbent bike (especially while watching episodes of Duck Dynasty and Welcome to Myrtle Manor).  I’ve been focused on eating high quality, minimally processed foods.  I try to follow an 80/20 rule…I eat really well 80% of the time, and allow myself to splurge 20% of the time.  I’ve been taking a daily vitamin, and most importantly, I’m working to focus on what is positive in my world, rather than being caught up in what is negative and toxic.  That, my friends, is not easy.  I think we overlook just how much we let the negative aspects of the world and the people around us influence our lives, actions, and dialogue with others.  It really is not easy to keep it positive, but the work of doing so really does have rewards.

Where do I go from here?

My blog now becomes a place where I do things MY way.  I’ll be writing, weekly for the most  part, about what  I’m cooking, eating and doing to help promote wellness and an overall positive and healthy lifestyle and outlook.  That doesn’t mean that the delicious baked goods will stop…those feed my soul just as much as many other things.  I think you’ll just notice that I’m not only going to be writing about food.  I really will be focusing on my blog’s tag line…Food, Memories, Adventure (including, but not limited to, my many Pinterest experiments).

I hope to see lots of visitors and comments as I move forward on this journey!

Leave a Reply

