Sweet and Scrumptious Salad…Perfection on a Plate

I don’t want to taint the beauty of this salad with too much verbosity.

It is salad perfection.

Salad from heaven.

The salad I could live on if I had to only eat one food for the rest of my life.

It is pure magic…

and it wasn’t my idea, so don’t go thinking I’m some sort of food genius!  I got the idea for this salad, and when I say idea, please understand that I got the idea to rip it off and make it at home, after our school’s visiting author luncheon last year.  Each year, a local caterer and chef (who IS a genius when it comes to food) lays out a spread that is to die for.  We have all started to look forward to this luncheon each year, and I think that part of the reason is this salad that was on the buffet the first year.  It was a salad that combined greens, berries, nuts, cheese, and a pomegranate vinaigrette that made me want to bathe in it.  (Sorry for that image, but it was THAT GOOD!)  After much begging and pleading, we were able to get the recipe for the dressing, but since the recipe is not mine to share, so I’ll keep that to myself.  I love to make it when I have pomegranate juice in the house…which is close to never…so I’ve come up with a way around the dressing that is equally satisfying and delicious.

Are you ready for this?  (Stop and consider before scrolling down.  This salad is “slap your mama” good.  Don’t you just love that saying?)

You start with these ingredients…

You need raspberries, blackberries, strawberries, drained and dried mandarin oranges, craisins, and pecans, and you also need a ball of fresh mozzarella…I’m not sure where my ball of fresh mozzarella is hiding, but you need it.  It is a taste and texture necessity!

You also need salad greens…those also did not make it into this first picture, so here you go…

Still no mozzarella, but you can see that I used a baby Romaine blend.  Use what looks good, but the more delicate greens seem to be the best in this salad.

You’ll need to dice the mozzarella into bite sized cubes, and hull and quarter the strawberries.  The rest is just throwing the ingredients into a big salad bowl and eyeballing amounts.

Once you’ve put everything together, you should have a salad that looks a little something like this…

Mix your ingredients together so there’s a little bit of everything in each portion.

I, honestly, could eat this entire bowl of salad on my own.  It is SO tasty and fresh.

I don’t dress the salad with a single dressing…it will wilt quickly and then this masterpiece doesn’t look so appetizing anymore.  Instead, I leave it up to each person to select a dressing and do so to taste.  I highly recommend a fruit-based vinaigrette…cranberry, raspberry, strawberry, or this one…purchased at my new food Mecca, Grandpa’s Cheesebarn (Don’t you dare laugh either, it is my holy land.)

Blackberry walnut, folks.  Sublime.

If you make this salad, I DARE you not to slap people out of the way to get a second helping!

It’s THAT good!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

