What I’ve Been Up To…

This week, I’ve been working on a new baking obsession that has my creativity racing in overdrive…cake jars.

Picture it…an 8 oz. jelly jar filled with layers of cake and frosting. Oh, the combinations that could be!!! So far, I’ve made lemon cake jars with raspberry buttercream and tonight, for our school’s visiting author luncheon, I made a from scratch version of a legendary cream filled chocolate cupcake. I can’t wait to try the millions…ok maybe not quite millions of possibilities, but there are lots of them flying around in this brain. Chocolate cake with peanut butter buttercream, red velvet with cream cheese frosting, carrot cake, angel food with lemon buttercream, chocolate cake with peppermint buttercream, pumpkin cake with more of that delicious cream cheese frosting, vanilla bean cake with orange buttercream…you get the picture…this cake serving medium has my creativity on fire!

For now, I just have a couple pictures of the ones I’ve created so far, but I’ll find the time to put together the tutorial so all of you can share in my cake jar glory! Until then…

20120327-213655.jpg

20120327-213712.jpg

Leave a Reply

