Nacho Salad…For Lack of a Better Name…

This one is for those days or nights when the last thing in the world you want to do is cook. We all have those nights. I’m currently in the process of trying to curb the occurrence of them. I have been working hard to remember to keep some staples on hand so that I always have something in the house that is both delicious and way better for me than some drive-thru or a call to the nearest pizza shop.

Tonight’s quick meal is brought to you by Tex-Mex flavors…we’ll call it a Nacho Salad. It came to me in a moment of desperation and I’ll never look back.

First, you need these ingredients…

Tortilla chips, grilled chicken breast, lettuce, taco sauce, salsa, and….

cheese. This is taco cheese recently acquired on my trip home from Ohio at Grandpa’s Cheese Barn…a must stop destination if your travels find you in the Ashland, OH area. If not, you can go ahead and use pepperjack, cheddar, or monterey jack.

So, first, throw a handful of tortilla chips in a microwave safe bowl.

Chop your chicken breast into bite-sized pieces.

Toss the chicken into the bowl on top of the tortilla chips.

Grate some of that glorious cheese. Yep, that’s right, I roll old school with my grater.

Throw the cheese on top and put your dish in the microwave for 30 seconds, or until the cheese melts.

While the cheese melts, chop up some lettuce…as much or as little as you want. On this day, I must not have wanted a bunch of lettuce. The most recent time I made this, I chopped a TON of lettuce. More lettuce = more like a salad…less lettuce = more like nachos….you decide!

When the cheese is melted, you’ll have something like this on your hands…and this, my friends, is a thing of beauty! But wait…you’re not done yet!!!

Add some of your taco sauce. I was feeling creative and went for the visually pleasing spiral design. I’m super creative like that.

Finally, top with lettuce and salsa and dig in! This is super tasty, will take you less time to make than you spent reading this post, and is filling without being ultra bad for you. Everything in moderation, right?! You could embellish this nacho salad in a multitude of ways…more fresh veggies, pickled jalapenos, black olives, black beans, or anything else you might consider throwing on a taco or plate of nachos!

Simple, quick, and absolutely delicious…everything a week night meal should be!

Happy Monday everyone! Have a scrumptious week!

Leave a Reply

