The Eggchilada…A Moment of Divine Clarity

I love Mexican food.  I also love breakfast food.  In fact, breakfast for dinner is one of my favorite meals.  Breakfast for any meal just about does it for me!  So, while I was perusing my much-loved copy of the Betty Crocker cookbook, I came across the recipe for Huevos Rancheros, I started thinking about combining one of my favorite cuisines with my favorite meal of the day.  Huevos Rancheros, if you don’t know, are basically a stack of tortilla, fried egg, salsa, sausage, and cheese.  I love all of these elements dearly, and had my moment of divine clarity not struck just when it did, last night’s dinner would have been the Huevos Rancheros.  (How many times can I say Huevos Rancheros in one paragraph? This goes against everything I’ve been teaching my Creative Writing kids about how to appropriately and artfully use repetition. )  As I was making my grocery list, my best idea in ages slapped me right in the face.  Hard.  I may or may not have bruises.

The Eggchilada…

Admittedly, I felt a little ridiculous speaking this portmanteau word aloud, but the second the elements began working together in my head, I knew I had a winner.  The Eggchilada is what you get what, you get when you combine Huevos Rancheros, a breakfast burrito, and my favorite Mexican dish…the enchilada.  Not only is it breakfast for any meal of the day perfection, it is SUPER easy to make.

So here we go!

Make sure you have a 9×13 baking dish nearby…that’s what you’ll put your enchiladas in for warming in the oven.  Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

First, begin by browning 1 pound of  bulk pork sausage.

When that’s done, take the sausage out of the pan and drain on a paper towel.  Quickly wipe your pan and then use this pan for the next step…the scrambling of the eggs.   I scrambled 8 eggs for this dish.  When I scramble eggs, I whisk the eggs and 1/2 tablespoon of milk per egg (so 4 tablespoons this time), and salt and pepper, before pouring the eggs in the pan and commencing the scramble.  You have complete control here…scramble your eggs the way you like them.  You may want to go a little shy of done the way you normally like them because your eggchiladas will go in the oven to warm through and melt the cheese in and on them before you eat.

Now, with your sausage cooked and your eggs scrambled, most of your cooking is done!  Grab a big bowl and combine your sausage, eggs, and some shredded cheddar cheese…I used about 1/2 cup…but use what looks good to you.  There is, after all, no such thing as too much cheese!!!

Next, you need to grab some corn tortillas and a jar of salsa.  You’ll need to soften your tortillas so they don’t crack as you’re rolling your eggchiladas.  This time, I softened mine in a dry pan over low heat.  You can also wrap them in a damp paper towel and warm in the microwave for 20-30 seconds.  Do whatever works for you!

Once your tortilla is softened, it’s time to build your eggchilada.  You need to put a big spoonful of the egg/sausage/cheese mixture in the tortilla.  Follow that with a good spoonful of salsa, and top with more shredded cheddar.


Once filled, roll your tortilla as tightly as you can.  Sorry…no picture here, I have not yet figured out how to do things like roll an enchilada and shoot an action shot…wait…more divine clarity…that’s why I have a husband!  Next time, I’ll just hand the camera to him!  Anyway, roll your enchilada tightly and then place the enchilada seam side down in your baking dish.

Here’s where we get to the point where I’d do things a bit differently the next time I make these.  You need enchilada sauce.  This comes in a can and can be found in the aisle with all of the Mexican ingredients.  I had one can of enchilada sauce, and next time, I’ll buy and use two…the corn tortillas really need it and who doesn’t love a little extra sauce?  Some of your sauce should be spread on the bottom of your pan (something I should have noted sooner), and pour the rest over your rolled enchiladas before baking.

After pouring your sauce, throw some more cheese on top.

Put your baking dish in the oven for 15-20 minutes, or until heated through.

Call the troops to the table and enjoy!  These are fantastic fresh out of the oven and really great as leftovers…I know because I had more this morning for breakfast!  Delicious!!!

Serve with some fruit or a fruit salad, and you have an unbelievable tasty and easy meal on your hands!

Just to recap…here’s what you need.

1 lb. bulk pork sausage

8 eggs whisked together with 4 T. milk, salt and pepper

16 oz. pkg. shredded sharp cheddar

1 jar of your favorite salsa

1 pkg. corn tortillas

2 cans enchilada sauce

 

These can definitely be made ahead and would make a great addition to a breakfast buffet or potluck! If you make them, let me know what you think!  I hope my  moment of divine clarity gives you something new to try in your own kitchen!

 

Leave a Reply

