Scenes from a Snickerdoodle Session

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Let me begin by saying that I LOVE snickerdoodles.  They top my list of favorite cookies, and every time I make a batch I have to hide said batch from myself because I have zero impulse control when it comes to these.  A snickerdoodle is a classic, and after much research, there isn’t a great deal of variation in snickerdoodle recipes.  They all have the same basic ingredients:  butter, sugar, salt, flour, baking soda, and cream of tartar (for the cookie), and cinnamon and sugar for the coating when you roll the cookie before baking.

I have both seen recipes for and tried to make snickerdoodles minus the cream of tartar.  Although it’s an expensive ingredient, I wouldn’t skip it.  I don’t really think leaving it out changes the flavor of the cookie, but it most definitely changes the volume and texture.  Without it, you don’t get that soft, puffy cookie that you grew up loving.  Don’t skip it!

Now, all that being said, I love a classic cookie recipe.  BUT, I also love to make a classic cookie recipe my own.  That’s exactly what I’ve done with my apple pie spiced snickerdoodle sandwich cookies.

I made no alterations to your basic snickerdoodle recipe, but I did change the coating that the cookies are rolled in.  Instead of your run-of-the-mill cinnamon and sugar mixture, I mixed apple pie spice with the sugar.  Apple pie spice includes a combination of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and allspice.  If you want to make your own (I had a container of premixed apple pie spice on hand, so I used that), check out this recipe (the apple pie spice is at the bottom of the page).

In addition to the apple pie spice coating, I made my cookies small and sandwiched two together with an apple butter filling.  My apple butter was purchased, but apple butter isn’t that hard to make either.  If you’re in a rush, though, just buy it.  I’ve found some good quality apple butters in grocery stores and gourmet markets.  If you want what I consider to be THE BEST apple spread, you can spring for Hurd Orchards’ cinnamon apple honey spread.

So…with no further adieu…here’s the recipe

Apple Pie Spiced Snickerdoodle Sandwich Cookies

*adapted from Betty Crocker

Ingredients

1 1/2 c. sugar
1 c. butter OR butter flavored shortening OR 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening (your choice)
2 large eggs
2 3/4 c. all-purpose flour
2 t. cream of tartar
1 t. baking soda
1/4 t. salt

for coating

1/4 c. sugar
2 teaspoons apple pie spice (or plain cinnamon for basic snickerdoodles)

for filling

1 jar apple butter or apple spread

Method

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Beat 1 1/2 c. sugar, butter, and eggs in the large bowl of an electric mixer on medium speed until combined.  Stir in flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt.

3. Shape dough into balls of desired size (for this recipe I used my small cookie scoop, but you can go up to 1 1/4 in. balls).  Mix the sugar and apple pie spice.  Roll balls in the spice and sugar mixture.  Place 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet (I cover with a Silpat, but you can also use parchment paper.).

4. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until set.  Immediately remove from cookie sheet to a wire rack.

5.  Once cookies have cooled completely (about an hour), spread the bottom of one cookie with the apple butter or spread and place another cookie (bottom side on the apple butter) on top.

Enjoy!

I DARE you to eat just one of these!  They are amazing.  I was so happy to share these with dear friends at the very same party that my safari cupcakes attended!  They received rave reviews and I will definitely be adding these to my Christmas cookie trays!

P.S. The cookies freeze well, so make them ahead of time, wrap in plastic wrap and foil, and throw them in the freezer.  That way you’ll have cookies on hand any time you need them!

 

 

Leave a Reply

