My Cape Cod Adventure…Part I

I have had many false starts with this post.  I originally wanted to be lazy about it and just do a slide show post with a tiny bit of writing and let the photos do most of the talking.  For reasons unknown to me, this whole slide show thing just isn’t cooperating.  This has forced me to have to be selective and share the best photos, rather than all of them.  Quality…I guess there’s something to be said for that!

Not long ago, I wrote a post about a trip to Boston and Salem.  In that post, I talked about how Massachusetts feels like home…coastal Massachusetts, that is.  Cape Cod epitomizes that feeling of home.  I was lucky enough to be asked to spend a week on the Cape with my oldest and dearest friends.  It was a trip that I won’t soon forget.  If you’ve never been to the Cape, I hope my photos (and attempt at a bit of travel writing) encourage you to look into a trip.  I have recently informed my husband that Cape Cod will be, forevermore, my summer vacation destination.  Luckily, I think he gets it…he lived and  worked there for several years before we met.

Plymouth Rock

Our trip began in Plymouth, MA.  Home of the one and only Plymouth Rock.  While in Plymouth, we ate at the Cabby Shack.  The Cabby Shack was featured on Food Network’s “The Best Thing I Ever Ate – Guilty Pleasures” for its Clam Chowdah.  I can’t speak for the Chowdah, but I did have a fish sandwich that was pretty amazing.  The rest of our table enjoyed a “famous” Cabby Shack pizza and raved about it.  This is definitely a place you should visit if you find yourself in Plymouth.  They have live music every night and it’s a relaxed and family friendly atmosphere.  I always measure the quality of a restaurant by whether or not I’d return for another meal.  I will be back to the Cabby Shack!

Another food highlight in Plymouth was next door to the Cabby Shack.  Cupcake Charlie’s is a cupcake bakery with locations in Plymouth and Mashpee, MA and Newport, RI.  This bakery has been featured on Food Network as well.  They were featured on (and almost won) Cupcake Wars.  I’ll keep it simple here…the cupcakes were amazing.  I had a lemon drop cupcake – lemon cake, lemon filling, lemon buttercream.  The cupcake was moist and the flavor was perfectly balanced.  No lemon overkill here.  Everyone in my group LOVED her chosen cupcake.  I had hoped to take pictures of all of the food I ate while on this trip…that didn’t pan out.  I was too busy eating the food and too hungry by the time we ate our food, that I didn’t take any time to pause and take a photo.  Maybe someday I’ll remember to practice 10 seconds of self-control and take that darn picture so you don’t have to rely on my words!

Our time in Plymouth also included a tour of the Mayflower II.  Our day on the Mayflower was one we spent battling torrential downpours, but it was definitely an attraction worth visiting.  After visiting the Mayflower, I definitely came to the conclusion that I would have stayed in England…that trip would have been too much for me to endure!  Thank goodness for the strength and fortitude of those Pilgrims!

The Mayflower II -- it may look roomy and spacious, but this IS NOT a cruise ship people

After our day in Plymouth, we hopped in the car and headed for the Cape.  Destination:  The Ocean Edge Resort in Brewster.  This was a great place to stay.  The resort offers just about anything you would need and even has a private beach if you stay on the Mansion side of the resort.  The beach is on the Cape Cod Bay and provided a great spot for morning walks and evening sunset views.  Brewster, in general, is a great place to stay because you’re in the middle of the Cape.  You’re close to most everything you’d want to see and do.

Sunset on the private beach

I could get used to this view....

As I’m writing this post, it is dawning on me that to truly do justice to this place and this trip, I should be writing multiple posts…there’s just too much to jam into one post, and a highlight reel won’t do it justice!  So…I’ll leave you with one more photo and I’ll get to work on my next installment.


Travel, for me, is about so many things…exploration, relaxation, renewal, learning, and adventure.  I hope that my next few posts about this trip encourage you to take trips, both near and far, that provide the same for you and those you love.  I wholeheartedly encourage everyone to seek out and find their own Cape Cod…the place in this world that feeds your body, your heart, and your soul.

Leave a Reply

