Breakfast Pizza…An Easy Crowd Pleaser

Any breakfast that includes bread, eggs, sausage (or bacon) and cheese is a winner for me.  Most of the time, that means toast with an omelette or a scramble of my other favorite ingredients.  On days when I’ve prepared ahead of time, however, that means breakfast pizza!  If you scour the internet for breakfast pizza recipes, you’ll find thousands.  Many include the breakfast standards I listed at the beginning, and some go further and add lots of veggies.

Today I’ll be sharing a recipe and a method.  The recipe is for pizza dough.  I often make mine in my bread machine.  You can also make dough using a stand mixer with a dough hook or with your very own hands.  Today I’m including a recipe for the bread machine, and on another day, I’ll do a from scratch no machine required recipe.  If you’re not of the dough making sort, just scoot over to your local grocery store and pick up a package of pizza dough.  Making it yourself is much cheaper, and if you’re not making a huge pizza, you can store half of your dough in the freezer for use at a later time.

Pizza Dough (for the bread machine)

*Makes 1.5 lb of dough — this matters if your machine has a setting for size of loaf/weight of dough — this makes 2 thin crusts

*Add ingredients to machine in order listed

1 c. + 2 T. warm water

1 1/2 T. olive oil

1 1/2 t. salt

1 1/2 t. sugar

3 c. flour

1 1/2 t. active dry yeast (I use bread machine yeast, but use what you have or can find!)

Select Dough or Pizza Dough cycle on your machine and hit the start button!


To make your pizza, just gather your favorite breakfast ingredients. Here’s what I used…

5 eggs, scrambled

turkey sausage crumbles, cooked (I used about 1 1/2 cups of the frozen Jimmy Dean Turkey Sausage Crumbles)

mozzarella cheese, shredded (to taste)

sharp cheddar cheese, shredded (to taste)

One hint…do all your cooking before you even think about putting the pizza together.  Cook your meat (bacon will be used next time…everything is SO much better with bacon!), scramble your eggs, and if you want to add veggies to the mix, saute or steam those as well.

Now, it’s time to assemble.  Stretch your dough to the size and shape you need.  Here’s where reality must be acknowledged.  No matter how hard you try, you will not get the perfect take out pizza round shape that your favorite pizza shop makes.  I don’t know what it is, but it just doesn’t happen.  Although mine turned out pretty close to round this time, the dough often does not cooperate with me.  I have produced some CRAZY pizza shapes.  It doesn’t matter though.  Just go with it!  The more you fight the dough, the more the dough wins.  Go with the shape it gives you.

Preheat your oven to 450 or 500 degrees…crank it way up!

When I make pizza, I use a pizza peel to assemble and put the pizza in the oven, and a baking stone to bake the pizza.  No pizza pan or cookie sheet involved for me.  The next time I do a pizza post, I’ll show that stuff.  Use what you have.  Before I put the dough on the pizza peel, I put down a layer of cornmeal.  This makes your pizza slide (easily) from the peel to the stone.

I put a layer of cheese directly on the dough…no sauce for me.  I’ve seen people use a cheese sauce or olive oil, salt and pepper.  I like it with just the cheese.  But (as always) do what works for you and satisfies your taste buds.


For this pizza, I put the meat on next.  On another day, I might mix the meat right in with the eggs and then drop everything on…again…this is a method.  Do what looks tasty for you!

Finish with eggs and more cheese.  Now it’s ready for the oven!

Bake at 450-500 for 8-10 minutes, or until it reaches your personal level of done.

Cut it quickly, grab what you want, and get the heck out of the way!  Your people will flock to this, and you do not want to end up being kitchen roadkill!

Pizza, like most other food, allows you to be creative and try lots of combinations.  Don’t be afraid to experiment!  I’m always looking for and trying new ingredient combinations, and I encourage you to do the same!  This is also a great food to make with kids.  Let the kiddos help you stretch the dough and place the toppings.  Pizza is a fun food, so have fun when you make it!

Have a great Thursday, and if you’re in a part of the country (like me) that is experiencing record high temperatures and heat advisories, please drink plenty of water and be careful when you’re outside!

Leave a Reply

