A Weekend Away…A Triumphant Return

*This one has been sitting in my drafts folder for a bit…I finally got it  edited and looking the way I wanted…Enjoy! More new posts are on the way now that I’m officially on summer break!!!!

Perhaps my post title is a little much…but I did go away for a wonderful long weekend.  And then I came back home and walked right into the kitchen to start baking…literally.  The pull was so strong, and I felt so full of inspiration, that I was unable to ignore it.

So, first off…where did I go?  The simple answer…Boston and Salem.  The more complex version…home.  There is something about this part of the country that calls to me.  I can’t explain it.  I’ve now been to Boston three different times, at three different points in my life.  I’ve been to Salem twice, with more than 15 years between visits.  I’ve also had the amazing experience of visiting Cape Cod (on an anniversary trip with my husband), and each time I’m  in the state of Massachusetts, I feel like I’m where I’m supposed to be.  Strange? Perhaps, I mean who dreams of living in Massachusetts?  Tropical and exotic locations seem to be the types of places that would make much more sense, but for me, it’s New England.  Maybe I was an unruly Puritan or a friend of Thoreau in a former life.  Who knows…I just know that every single time I’m there, I feel like I’m home.  It’s really pretty cool.

When I travel, I always take a camera.  I always get so amped up to take tons of great pictures that (theoretically) will end up in a fabulous scrapbook, and then…  I take about 30 or 40 pictures and then end up leaving the camera in my bag for the rest of the trip.  I get so caught up in being there in that moment, that I forget to preserve it with my camera.  I really need to get better at that!

I was able to get some pretty great pictures on the Boston leg of the trip.  If you’ve never been to Boston, and had the opportunity to really walk around the city, you need to go.  Everything is within walking distance, and the subway system is ridiculously easy to navigate.

Let’s begin with the highlight of the trip…

Fenway Park...A Park EVERY baseball fan NEEDS to visit!

Being a Sox fan, I thought I was prepared for the excitement I’d feel for my first visit to Fenway.  There was no way I could have been prepared for the sense of history and pride that this place emits.  It is, quite literally, a structure that feels alive.  It’s undeniable.  I don’t care if you’re the most die-hard of Yankees fans…if you’ve never been to Fenway, you need to go.  You need to experience this place.  For the baseball fan, there is no landmark more monumental.  I cannot wait to visit again.  I’m hoping that when I do, I remember to take more pictures!

Yawkey Way

Inside Fenway

The Green Monster

Salem was next, but alas, I was so busy being there that I forgot to take out the camera.  I do, however, have one picture of the souvenir I bought in Salem.

Matilda...my new kitchen witch

Fast forward to today…Wednesday, July 13th…I’m not 100% sure where I was going with this post after showcasing my picture of Matilda…one in a growing collection of witches that grace my kitchen.  I think I wanted to talk about the fact that I’m pretty sure I got right in the kitchen and started baking…now…months later…I’m not even sure what I baked.  I think my main point, however, was that I was completely inspired by my trip and inspiration, for me, manifests itself in the creation and sharing of food.  In (finally) sharing this post, I hope you spend some time this summer searching for things that inspire you to create as well.  I’m never more energized and alive than I am when I’m being creative.  I want the same for you.

2 thoughts on “A Weekend Away…A Triumphant Return

Leave a Reply

