I’m Still Here…

It has been awhile since my last post, and for good reason…I’ve been baking bread.  Loaf after loaf of beautiful, tasty, free-form, artisan bread.  Who has time to bake so much darn bread, you may ask.  ME!  YOU! EVERYONE!  Although the bread I’ve been baking has the artisan look and taste, it does not pack the same artisan time committment.

Warm, homemade bread...made with minimal effort!

My method for this gorgeous loaf of bread (and, for the record, there is little in this world as beautiful to me as a fresh-baked loaf of bread) comes from a cookbook called Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day.  This book has changed my baking life in some of the best ways!  Although the title leaves out the whole 40 minutes of resting and 30 minutes of baking part, you really can have a loaf of bread like this with no more than FIVE minutes of effort.  Plus, it’s so good you’ll want to (and be able to) bake a new loaf nearly every day!

The book that changed my bread baking life...

Because I don’t want to tread all over any copyright laws, I’m not going to post the recipe I’ve been using from this book.  If you live close enough to me, I might (perhaps) let you borrow the book for a few minutes to copy down the recipe.  If you don’t, you can always email me and I can give you the necessary information so you too can be on your way to creating amazing bread of your own!  You can also check out http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com/.  This website is maintained and frequently updated by the authors of the cookbook AND has a ton of recipes — including the one I’ve been using.

Now for more bread shots (that just sounds scandalous)…

Same delicious recipe, different cut pattern

Once you mix up a batch of the bread dough, you have enough for 4 – 1 lb. loaves.  That gets my hubby and me through a week, but if you have a larger family, it may only get you through 2-3 days.  The good news…the recipe is easy to double.

Another view...another cut pattern possibility

A final shot...

To end, please remember, I share these ideas (and the occasional recipe) to inspire you to get into your own kitchen and try new things.  Before I tried this bread baking method, I had little experience with baking my own bread.  I have since gained confidence and tried the more traditional methods, but this is the one recipe/method I keep coming back to.  There is little more comforting that warm, fresh-baked bread and there is nothing like knowing you baked that bread yourself.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “I’m Still Here…

Leave a Reply

